Research areas & faculty

The Jackson Laboratory faculty come together from diverse backgrounds to advance mammalian genetics research. Research is now underway at The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine in Farmington, Conn., in addition to our main campus in Bar Harbor, Maine.

* Located at JAX Genomic Medicine in Connecticut.

Research area 

Aging

The recently established Jackson Aging Center focuses on the basic mechanisms of aging to find the genetic and physiological causes of age-related diseases and disorders.

Cheryl Ackert-Bicknell Gary Churchill Chengkai Dai
David Harrison Gareth Howell Ron Korstanje
Kevin Mills Beverly Paigen Luanne Peters
John Sundberg

Bioinformatics/Computational Biology

The bioinformatics and computational biology faculty develop sophisticated tools for analysis, storage, organization and annotation of the ever-increasing amounts of available genetics data for internal use and for access by the research community. 

Judith Blake Molly Bogue Carol Bult
Greg Carter Elissa Chesler Jeffrey Chuang*
Gary Churchill Janan Eppig Joel Graber
Charles Lee* Zhengqing Ouyang* Martin Ringwald
Yijun Ruan* Duygu Ucar*

Cancer

The Jackson Laboratory has played a critical role in cancer and genetic research since 1929. We are an NCI-designated cancer center.

Carol Bult Chengkai Dai Janan Eppig
Joel Graber Frank McKeon* Kevin Mills
Leonard Shultz Jennifer Trowbridge Wa Xian*
Kyuson Yun  

Cardiovascular

Research focuses on various aspects of cardiovascular function, from early development to the role of genetics in determining cholesterol levels. 

Ron Korstanje Beverly Paigen

Development

Jackson Laboratory faculty investigate the basic processes that take us from fertilized egg to functional being, which also hold key information about how our genes function. 

Susan Ackerman David Bergstrom Robert Braun
Robert Burgess Leah Rae Donahue Steve Murray
Martin Ringwald Kyuson Yun Zhong-wei Zhang

Genomics

Genetics used to mean single-gene research. There’s now an entire genome to investigate and comprehend, and Jackson Laboratory researchers are using sophisticated new techniques to unravel its complexities. 

Cheryl Ackert-Bicknell Judith Blake Molly Bogue
Robert Braun Carol Bult Greg Carter
Elissa Chesler Jeffrey Chuang* Gary Churchill
Janan Eppig Wayne Frankel Joel Graber
Gareth Howell Simon John Charles Lee*
Zhengqing Ouyang Kenneth Paigen Yijun Ruan*
Michael Stitzel* Duygu Ucar*

Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology

The Jackson Laboratory is at the forefront of the new thinking about how the body’s immune response and inflammation contribute to a variety of diseases, including cancer and diabetes.

Edward Leiter Kevin Mills Luanne Peters
Derry Roopenian David Serreze Leonard Shultz
John Sundberg Jennifer Trowbridge


Metabolism

Research at the Laboratory addresses the vast genetic networks that contribute to obesity and metabolic disorders.  

Edward Leiter Jurgen Naggert Patsy Nishina
Beverly Paigen David Serreze Michael Stitzel*

Neurobiology

The Jackson Laboratory addresses a wide range for research topics regarding neurological function and dysfunction, from developmental processes and sensory disorders to neuron degeneration. 

Susan Ackerman Robert Burgess Bo Chang
Elissa Chesler Gregory Cox Wayne Frankel
Gareth Howell Simon John Kenneth Johnson
Verity Letts Cathleen Lutz Jurgen Naggert
Patsy Nishina Kevin Seburn Richard Smith
Kyuson Yun Zhong-wei Zhang

Reproductive Biology

Research into egg and sperm production and associated problems provides new ways to address reproductive disorders such as infertility and the potential for better contraception methods. 

Robert Braun John Eppig Mary Ann Handel
Kenneth Paigen Laura Reinholdt

Research Tools

Improving human health requires new and better tools for discovery. The Jackson Laboratory scientists develop disease model systems as well as technology breakthroughs for use at the Lab as well as in the research community at large. 

Judith Blake Molly Bogue Leah Rae Donahue
Simon John Cathleen Lutz Steve Murray
Laura Reinholdt Michael Sasner

Stem Cells

Stem cells may hold the key to breakthroughs in many of the Laboratory’s research areas, with particular emphasis focused on their role in cancer and aging. 

Robert Braun David Harrison Frank McKeon*
Jennifer Trowbridge Wa Xian* Kyuson Yun

 

* Located at The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine in Farmington, Conn.

Name

Name Research areas Location
Ackerman, Susan Development, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Ackert-Bicknell, Cheryl Aging, Genomics Bar Harbor
Bergstrom, David Development Bar Harbor
Blake, Judith A. Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Bogue, Molly Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Braun, Robert Development, Genomics, Reproductive Biology, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Bult, Carol J. Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Cancer, Genomics Bar Harbor
Burgess, Robert W. Development, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Carter, Greg Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Bar Harbor
Chang, Bo Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Chesler, Elissa Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Chuang, Jeffrey* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Churchill, Gary A. Aging, Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Bar Harbor
Cox, Gregory Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Dai, Chengkai Aging, Cancer Bar Harbor
Donahue, Leah Rae Development, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Eppig, Janan Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Cancer, Genomics Bar Harbor
Eppig, John Reproductive Biology Bar Harbor
Frankel, Wayne N. Genomics, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Graber, Joel. H. Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Cancer, Genomics Bar Harbor
Handel, Mary Ann Reproductive Biology Bar Harbor
Harrison, David E. Aging, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Howell, Gareth Aging, Genomics, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
John, Simon Genomics, Neurobiology, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Johnson, Kenneth Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Korstanje, Ron Aging, Cardiovascular Bar Harbor
Lee, Charles* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Leiter, Edward H. Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Letts, Verity Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Lutz, Cathleen Neurobiology, Research Tools Bar Harbor
McKeon, Frank* Cancer, Stem Cells Farmington
Mills, Kevin Aging, Cancer, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Murray, Steve Development, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Naggert, Jürgen K. Metabolism, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Nishina, Patsy Metabolism, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Ouyang, Zhengqing* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Paigen, Beverly Aging, Cardiovascular, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Paigen, Kenneth Genomics, Reproductive Biology Bar Harbor
Peters, Luanne Aging, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Reinholdt, Laura Reproductive Biology, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Ringwald, Martin Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Development Bar Harbor
Roopenian, Derry C. Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Ruan, Yijun* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Sasner, Michael Research Tools Bar Harbor
Seburn, Kevin Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Serreze, David V. Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Shultz, Leonard D. Cancer, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Smith, Richard Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Stitzel, Michael* Genomics, Metabolism Farmington
Sundberg, John Aging, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Trowbridge, Jennifer Cancer, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Ucar, Duygu* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Xian, Wa* Cancer, Stem Cells Farmington
Yun, Kyuson Cancer, Development, Neurobiology, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Zhang, Zhong-wei Development, Neurobiology Bar Harbor

Faculty directory

Professors Associate Professors
Assistant Professors Adjunct Staff Members
Senior Research Scientists Research Scientists 
Associate Research Scientists Affiliated Scientists
Predoctoral Staff Postdoctoral Staff
Emeritus Staff


Professors

Name Email
Susan L. Ackerman, Ph.D. susan.ackerman@jax.org
Jacques F. Banchereau, Ph.D.* jacques.banchereau@jax.org
Robert E. Braun, Ph.D. bob.braun@jax.org
Carol J. Bult, Ph.D. carol.bult@jax.org
Robert W. Burgess, Ph.D. robert.burgess@jax.org
Gary A. Churchill, Ph.D. gary.churchill@jax.org
Janan T. Eppig, Ph.D. jte@informatics.jax.org
Wayne N. Frankel, Ph.D. wayne.frankel@jax.org
David E. Harrison, Ph.D. david.harrison@jax.org
Simon W.M. John, Ph.D.  simon.john@jax.org 
Charles Lee, Ph.D.* charles.lee@jax.org
Edward H. Leiter, Ph.D. ed.leiter@jax.org
Frank D. McKeon, Ph.D.* frank.mckeon@jax.org
Juergen K. Naggert, Ph.D.  juergen.naggert@jax.org
Patsy Nishina, Ph.D.  patsy.nishina@jax.org
Beverly J. Paigen, Ph.D. bev.paigen@jax.org
Kenneth Paigen, Ph.D. ken.paigen@jax.org
Karolina K. Palucka, Ph.D.* karolina.palucka@jax.org
Luanne L. Peters, Ph.D. luanne.peters@jax.org
Derry C. Roopenian, Ph.D. derry.roopenian@jax.org
Yijun Ruan, Ph.D.* yijun.ruan@jax.org
David V. Serreze, Ph.D.  dave.serreze@jax.org
Leonard D. Shultz, Ph.D. lenny.shultz@jax.org
John P. Sundberg, DVM, Ph.D. john.sundberg@jax.org
Derya Unutmaz, Ph.D.* derya.unutmaz@jax.org
Haoyi Wang, Ph.D. haoyi.wang@jax.org
George M. Weinstock, Ph.D.* george.weinstock@jax.org

Back to Top

Associate Professors

Name Email
Judith A. Blake, Ph.D. judith.blake@jax.org
Elissa J. Chesler, Ph.D. elissa.chesler@jax.org
Jeffrey H. Chuang, Ph.D.* jeffrey.chuang@jax.org
Gregory A. Cox, Ph.D. greg.cox@jax.org
Kenneth R. Johnson Ph.D ken.johnson@jax.org
Kevin D. Mills, Ph.D kevin.mills@jax.org
Martin Ringwald, Ph.D. ringwald@informatics.jax.org
Zhong-wei Zhang, Ph.D. zhongwei.zhang@jax.org

Back to Top

Assistant Professors

Name Email
Gregory Carter, Ph.D. greg.carter@jax.org
Chengkai Dai, Ph.D. chengkai.dai@jax.org
Gareth R. Howell, Ph.D. gareth.howell@jax.org
Ron Korstanje, Ph.D. ron.korstanje@jax.org
Zhengqing Ouyang, Ph.D.* zhengqing.ouyang@jax.org
Michael L. Stitzel, Ph.D.* michael.stitzel@jax.org
Jennifer J. Trowbridge, Ph.D. jennifer.trowbridge@jax.org
Duygu Ucar, Ph.D.* duygu.ucar@jax.org
Adam Williams, Ph.D.* adam.williams@jax.org
Wa Xian, Ph.D.* wa.xian@jax.org
Kyuson Yun, Ph.D. kyuson.yun@jax.org

Back to Top

Adjunct Staff Members

Name Email
Michael Brehm, Ph.D. michael.brehm@umassmed
Roderick Bronson, DVM rod.bronson@jax.org
David R. Gandara, M.D. david.gandara@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
Dale L. Greiner, Ph.D. dale.greiner@umassmed.edu
Thomas Gridley, Ph.D. gridlt@mmc.org  
Matthew Hibbs, Ph.D. mhibbs@trinity.edu
Harm HogenEsch, Ph.D. hogenesch@purdue.edu
Keith Hutchison, Ph.D.  keithh@maine.edu  
Andre Khalil, Ph.D.  akhalil@jax.org  
Barbara B. Knowles, Ph.D. barbara.knowles@
imb.a-star.edu.sg
Samuel E. Lux, MD slux@jax.org
Michael Mason, Ph.D.  mmason@umche.maine.edu
Herbert Morse, MD hm16c@nih.gov 
Allan Pack, Ph.D. pack@mail.med.upenn.edu
Jens Rueter, Ph.D.
John Schimenti, Ph.D. jcs92@cornell.edu
Paul N. Schofield, Ph.D. PS@mole.bio.cam.ac.uk
Kevin Strange, Ph.D.
Jerrold Ward, Ph.D. jerry.ward686@comcast.net

Back to Top

Senior Research Scientists

Name Email
Bo Chang, Ph.D. bo.chang@jax.org
Leah Rae Donahue, Ph.D. leahrae.donahue@jax.org
Joel H. Graber, Ph.D. joel.graber@jax.org
Mary Ann Handel, Ph.D. maryann.handel@jax.org
James Kadin, Ph.D. jak@informatics.jax.org
Joel Richardson, Ph.D. jer@informatics.jax.org
Erica J. Weinstock. Ph.D.* erica.weinstock@jax.org
Chengsheng (CZ) Zhang, Ph.D.* chengsheng.zhang@jax.org

Back to Top

Research Scientists

Name Email
David Bergstrom, Ph.D. dave.bergstrom@jax.org
Molly Bogue, Ph.D.  molly.bogue@jax.org
Rebecca Boumil, Ph.D. rebecca.boumil@jax.org
Arthur Chlebowski, Ph.D. arthur.chlebowski@jax.org
Mary Dolan, Ph.D. mary.dolan@jax.org
David Hill, Ph.D. david.hill@jax.org
Hyunsoo Kim, Ph.D.* hyunsoo.kim@jax.org
Verity Letts, Ph.D. verity.letts@jax.org
Guoliang Li, Ph.D.* guoliang.li@jax.org
Cathleen M. Lutz, Ph.D.  cat.lutz@jax.org
Steve Murray, Ph.D. steve.murray@jax.org
Petko Petkov, Ph.D. petko.petkov@jax.org
Laura Reinholdt, Ph.D. laura.reinholdt@jax.org
Michael Sasner, Ph.D.  mike.sasner@jax.org
Kevin Seburn, Ph.D. kevin.seburn@jax.org
Cynthia Smith, Ph.D. cynthia.smith@jax.org
Karen Svenson, Ph.D. karen.svenson@jax.org
Julie Wells, Ph.D. julie.wells@jax.org
Yusuke Yamamoto, Ph.D. yusuke.yamamoto@jax.org

Back to Top

Associate Research Scientists

Name Email
Laurent Bogdanik, Ph.D. laurent.bogdanik@jax.org
Jason Bubier, Ph.D. jason.bubier@jax.org
Frank Buaas, Ph.D. bill.buaas@jax.org
de Vries, Mimi, Ph.D. mimi.devries@jax.org
Krzysztof Grzeda, Ph.D.* krzysztof.grzeda@jax.org
Muneer Hasham, Ph.D. muneer.hasham@jax.org
Imogen Hurley, Ph.D. imogen.hurley@jax.org
Krish Kizhatil, Ph.D. Krish.kizhatil@jax.org
Mark Krebs, Ph.D. mark.krebs@jax.org
Shana Leopold, Ph.D.* shana.leopold@jax.org
Radu Marches, Ph.D.* radu.marches@jax.org
Eladio Marquez, Ph.D.* eladio.marquez@jax.org
Francesca Menghi, Ph.D.* francesca.menghi@jax.org
Gang Ning, Ph.D.* gang.ning@jax.org
Anthony Robertson, Ph.D. tony.robertson@jax.org
Raymond Robledo, Ph.D.  ray.robledo@jax.org
Ruth L. Saxl, Ph.D. ruth.saxl@jax.org
Manju Sharma, Ph.D. manju.sharma@jax.org
Ileana Soto Reyes, Ph.D. ileana.sotoreyes@jax.org
Fengyun Sun, Ph.D. fengyun.sun@jax.org
Purva Vats, Ph.D.* purva.vats@jax.org
Yuping Zhang, Ph.D.* yuping.zhang@jax.org
Lihong Zhao, Ph.D. lihong.zhao@jax.org
Qihui Zhu, Ph.D.* qihui.zhu@jax.org

Back to Top

Affiliated Scientists

Name Email
Peggy Danneman, V.M.D., M.S. peggy.danneman@jax.org
James Fahey, DVM jim.fahey@jax.org
Barbara Tennent, Ph.D. barbara.tennent@jax.org
Ray Vonder Haar, Ph.D. ray.vonderhaar@jax.org

Back to Top

Predoctoral Staff

Name Email
Kyle Beauchemin kyle.beauchemin@jax.org
Seungbum Choi seungbum.choi@jax.org
Yang Kong yang.kong@jax.org
Erik McCarthy erik.mccarthy@jax.org
Cong Tian cong.tian@jaxorg

Back to Top

Postdoctoral Staff
 

Name Email
Christopher Baker, Ph.D. christopher.baker@jax.org
Bautista Bautista, Eddy* eddy.bautista@jax.org
Yuxiao Chang, Ph.D.* yuxiao.chang@jax.org
Albert Cheng, Ph.D. albert.cheng@jax.org
Kwangbom Choi, Ph.D. kwangbom.choi@jax.org
Kin-Hoe Chow, Ph.D. kin-hoe.chow@jax.org
Theun de Groot, Ph.D. theun.degroot@jax.org
Price Dickson, Ph.D. price.dickson@jax.org
Marcin Duleba, Ph.D.* marcin.duleba@jax.org
Sarah Edie, Ph.D. sarah.edie@jax.org
Hongjun Fu, Ph.D. hongjun.fu@jax.org
Chizuru Sogawa Fujiwara, Ph.D. chizuru.sogawa@jax.org
Yasuhiro, Fujiwara, Ph.D. yasuhiro.fujiwara@jax.org
Andrew Garrett, Ph.D. andrew.garrett@jax.org
Archana Gopalan, Ph.D. archana.gopalan@jax.org
Blake Hanson, Ph.D.* blake.hanson@jax.org
Jeffrey Harder, Ph.D. jeffrey.harder@jax.org
Amy Hicks, Ph.D. amy.hicks@jax.org
Yue Hong, Ph.D.* yue.hong@jax.org
Vishnu Hosur, Ph.D. vishnu.hosur@jax.org
Bo Ji, Ph.D. bo.ji@jax.org
Mridu Kapur, Ph.D. mridu.kapur@jax.org
Ji Hun Kim, Ph.D.* jihun.kim@jax.org
Pooja Kumar, Ph.D.* pooja.kumar@jax.org
Ina Kycia, Ph.D.* ina.kycia@jax.org
Kristin Lamont, Ph.D. kristin.lamont@jax.org
Huawen Li, Ph.D. huawen.li@jax.org
Xingwang Li, Ph.D.* xingwang.li@jax.org
Yizhou Li, Ph.D.* yizhou.li@jax.org
Ye Liu, Ph.D. ye.liu@jax.org
Oscar Luo, Ph.D.* oscar.luo@jax.org
Steven Munger, Ph.D. steven.munger@jax.org
Sivaraman Natarajan, Ph.D. sivaraman.natarajan@jax.org
Juliet Ndukum, Ph.D. juliet.ndukum@jax.org
Danitza Nebor, Ph.D. danitza.nebor@jax.org
Marijke Niens, Ph.D. marijke.niens@jax.org
Kristen Onos, Ph.D. kristen.onos@jax.org
Lauren Petersen, Ph.D.* lauren.petersen@jax.org
Pavlina Petkova, Ph.D. pavlina.petkova@jax.org
Natalie Powers, Ph.D. natalie.powers@jax.org
Maximiliano Presa, Ph.D. maximiliano.presa@jax.org
Jeremy Racine, Ph.D. jeremy.racine@jax.org
Narayanan Raghupathy, Ph.D. narayanan.raghupathy@jax.org
Prashant Singh, Ph.D.* prashant.singh@jax.org
Elizabeth Snyder, Ph.D. elizabeth.snyder@jax.org
Daniel Spakowicz, Ph.D.* daniel.spakowicz@jax.org
Kuo-Hui Su, Ph.D. kuo-hui.su@jax.org
George Sutphin, Ph.D. george.sutphin@jax.org
Abby Tadenev, Ph.D. abby.tadenev@jax.org
Zhonghui Tang, Ph.D.* zhonghui.tang@jax.org
Hui Tian, Ph.D. hui.tian@jax.org
Anna L. Tyler, Ph.D. anna.tyler@jax.org
Mohit Verma, Ph.D. mohit.verma@jax.org
Joel Wagner, Ph.D.* joel.wagner@jax.org
Yubing Wan, Ph.D.* yubing.wan@jax.org
Ping Wang, Ph.D.* ping.wang@jax.org
Xulong Wang, Ph.D. xulong.wang@jax.org
Pete. Williams, Ph.D. pete.williams@jax.org
Te-Chia (Tina) Wu, Ph.D.* te-chia.wu@jax.org
Zhihong Yang, Ph.D. zhihong.yang@jax.org
Kira Young, Ph.D. kira.young@jax.org
Meizhen Zheng, Ph.D.* meizhen.zheng@jax.org
Yue Zhao, Ph.D. yue.zhao@jax.org
Chenchen Zou, Ph.D.* chenchen.zou@jax.org

Back to Top

Emeritus Staff
 

Name Email
Jane E. Barker, Ph.D.  jane.barker@jax.org 
Wesley G. Beamer, Ph.D. wesley.beamer@jax.org
Seldon E. Bernstein, Ph.D. seldonb@jax.org
Robert L. Collins, Ph.D. rlc@jax.org
Muriel Davisson, Ph.D. muriel.davisson@jax.org
Igor K. Egorov, Ph.D., DSc ike@jax.org
Eva M. Eicher, Ph.D. eva.eicher@jax.org
John J. Eppig, Ph.D. john.eppig@jax.org
Robert Evans, Ph.D., DSc revans@jax.org
Richard R. Fox, Ph.D. dfox@jax.org
Barbara H. Hugus, Ph.D. barbarahugus@hotmail.com
Andrew A. Kandutsch, Ph.D. nakand@localnet.com
Larry E. Mobraaten, Ph.D.  larry.mobraaten@jax.org 
David D. Myers, DVM, Ph.D. dave.myers@jax.org
Leroy C. Stevens, Ph.D.  
Benjamin A. Taylor, Ph.D. bat@jax.org

Back to Top

Latest Update on October 6, 2014

Content Maintained by: Lorelei St.Germain