Research areas & faculty

The Jackson Laboratory faculty come together from diverse backgrounds to advance mammalian genetics research. Research is now underway at The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine in Farmington, Conn., in addition to our main campus in Bar Harbor, Maine.

* Located at JAX Genomic Medicine in Connecticut.

Research area 

Aging

The recently established Jackson Aging Center focuses on the basic mechanisms of aging to find the genetic and physiological causes of age-related diseases and disorders.

Gary Churchill Chengkai Dai David Harrison
Gareth Howell Ron Korstanje Kevin Mills
Beverly Paigen Luanne Peters John Sundberg

Bioinformatics/Computational Biology

The bioinformatics and computational biology faculty develop sophisticated tools for analysis, storage, organization and annotation of the ever-increasing amounts of available genetics data for internal use and for access by the research community. 

Judith Blake Molly Bogue Carol Bult
Greg Carter Elissa Chesler Jeffrey Chuang*
Gary Churchill Janan Eppig Joel Graber
Charles Lee* Zhengqing Ouyang* Martin Ringwald
Yijun Ruan* Duygu Ucar*

Cancer

The Jackson Laboratory has played a critical role in cancer and genetic research since 1929. We are an NCI-designated cancer center.

Jacques Banchereau Carol Bult Chengkai Dai
Janan Eppig Joel Graber Edison Liu
Kevin Mills Karolina Palucka Leonard Shultz
Jennifer Trowbridge Kyuson Yun

Cardiovascular

Research focuses on various aspects of cardiovascular function, from early development to the role of genetics in determining cholesterol levels. 

Ron Korstanje Beverly Paigen

Development

Jackson Laboratory faculty investigate the basic processes that take us from fertilized egg to functional being, which also hold key information about how our genes function. 

Susan Ackerman David Bergstrom Ewelina Bolcun-filas
Robert Braun Robert Burgess Steve Murray
Martin Ringwald Basile Tarchini Kyuson Yun
Zhong-wei Zhang

Genomics

Genetics used to mean single-gene research. There’s now an entire genome to investigate and comprehend, and Jackson Laboratory researchers are using sophisticated new techniques to unravel its complexities. 

Judith Blake Molly Bogue Robert Braun
Carol Bult Greg Carter Elissa Chesler
Jeffrey Chuang* Gary Churchill Janan Eppig
Wayne Frankel Joel Graber Gareth Howell
Simon John Vivek Kumar Charles Lee*
Edison Liu Zhengqing Ouyang Kenneth Paigen
Yijun Ruan* Michael Stitzel* Duygu Ucar*
George Weinstock*

Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology

The Jackson Laboratory is at the forefront of the new thinking about how the body’s immune response and inflammation contribute to a variety of diseases, including cancer and diabetes.

Jacques Banchereau Edward Leiter Kevin Mills
Karolina Palucka Luanne Peters Derry Roopenian
David Serreze Leonard Shultz John Sundberg
Jennifer Trowbridge Derya Unutmaz* Adam Williams*


Metabolism

Research at the Laboratory addresses the vast genetic networks that contribute to obesity and metabolic disorders.  

Edward Leiter Jurgen Naggert Patsy Nishina
Beverly Paigen David Serreze Michael Stitzel*

Neurobiology

The Jackson Laboratory addresses a wide range for research topics regarding neurological function and dysfunction, from developmental processes and sensory disorders to neuron degeneration. 

Susan Ackerman Robert Burgess Bo Chang
Elissa Chesler Gregory Cox Wayne Frankel
Gareth Howell Simon John Kenneth Johnson
Vivek Kumar Verity Letts Cathleen Lutz
Jurgen Naggert Patsy Nishina Kevin Seburn
Richard Smith Basile Tarchini Kyuson Yun
Zhong-wei Zhang

Reproductive Biology

Research into egg and sperm production and associated problems provides new ways to address reproductive disorders such as infertility and the potential for better contraception methods. 

Robert Braun Ewelina Bolcun-filas John Eppig
Mary Ann Handel Kenneth Paigen Laura Reinholdt

Research Tools

Improving human health requires new and better tools for discovery. The Jackson Laboratory scientists develop disease model systems as well as technology breakthroughs for use at the Lab as well as in the research community at large. 

Judith Blake Molly Bogue Simon John
Cathleen Lutz Steve Murray Laura Reinholdt
Michael Sasner George Weinstock*

Stem Cells

Stem cells may hold the key to breakthroughs in many of the Laboratory’s research areas, with particular emphasis focused on their role in cancer and aging. 

Robert Braun David Harrison Jennifer Trowbridge
Kyuson Yun

 

* Located at The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine in Farmington, Conn.

Name

Name Research areas Location
Ackerman, Susan Development, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Bergstrom, David Development Bar Harbor
Blake, Judith A. Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Bogue, Molly Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Braun, Robert Development, Genomics, Reproductive Biology, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Bult, Carol J. Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Cancer, Genomics Bar Harbor
Burgess, Robert W. Development, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Carter, Greg Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Bar Harbor
Chang, Bo Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Chesler, Elissa Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Chuang, Jeffrey* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Churchill, Gary A. Aging, Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Bar Harbor
Cox, Gregory Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Dai, Chengkai Aging, Cancer Bar Harbor
Eppig, Janan Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Cancer, Genomics Bar Harbor
Eppig, John Reproductive Biology Bar Harbor
Frankel, Wayne N. Genomics, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Graber, Joel. H. Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Cancer, Genomics Bar Harbor
Handel, Mary Ann Reproductive Biology Bar Harbor
Harrison, David E. Aging, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Howell, Gareth Aging, Genomics, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
John, Simon Genomics, Neurobiology, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Johnson, Kenneth Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Korstanje, Ron Aging, Cardiovascular Bar Harbor
Lee, Charles* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Leiter, Edward H. Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Letts, Verity Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Lutz, Cathleen Neurobiology, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Mills, Kevin Aging, Cancer, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Murray, Steve Development, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Naggert, Jürgen K. Metabolism, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Nishina, Patsy Metabolism, Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Ouyang, Zhengqing* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Paigen, Beverly Aging, Cardiovascular, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Paigen, Kenneth Genomics, Reproductive Biology Bar Harbor
Peters, Luanne Aging, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Reinholdt, Laura Reproductive Biology, Research Tools Bar Harbor
Ringwald, Martin Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Development Bar Harbor
Roopenian, Derry C. Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Ruan, Yijun* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Sasner, Michael Research Tools Bar Harbor
Seburn, Kevin Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Serreze, David V. Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Shultz, Leonard D. Cancer, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology Bar Harbor
Smith, Richard Neurobiology Bar Harbor
Stitzel, Michael* Genomics, Metabolism Farmington
Sundberg, John Aging, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Metabolism Bar Harbor
Trowbridge, Jennifer Cancer, Immunology/Inflammation/Hematology, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Ucar, Duygu* Bioinformatics/Computational Biology, Genomics Farmington
Yun, Kyuson Cancer, Development, Neurobiology, Stem Cells Bar Harbor
Zhang, Zhong-wei Development, Neurobiology Bar Harbor

Faculty directory

Professors Associate Professors
Assistant Professors Adjunct Staff Members
Senior Research Scientists Research Scientists 
Associate Research Scientists Affiliated Scientists
Predoctoral Staff Postdoctoral Staff
Emeritus Staff


Professors

Name Email
Susan L. Ackerman, Ph.D. susan.ackerman@jax.org
Jacques F. Banchereau, Ph.D.* jacques.banchereau@jax.org
Judy A. Blake, Ph.D. judy.blake@jax.org
Robert E. Braun, Ph.D. bob.braun@jax.org
Carol J. Bult, Ph.D. carol.bult@jax.org
Robert W. Burgess, Ph.D. robert.burgess@jax.org
Gary A. Churchill, Ph.D. gary.churchill@jax.org
Janan T. Eppig, Ph.D. jte@informatics.jax.org
Wayne N. Frankel, Ph.D. wayne.frankel@jax.org
David E. Harrison, Ph.D. david.harrison@jax.org
Simon W.M. John, Ph.D.  simon.john@jax.org 
Reinhard Laubenbacher, Ph.D.* reinhard.laubenbacher@jax.org
Charles Lee, Ph.D.* charles.lee@jax.org
Edward H. Leiter, Ph.D. ed.leiter@jax.org
Juergen K. Naggert, Ph.D.  juergen.naggert@jax.org
Patsy Nishina, Ph.D.  patsy.nishina@jax.org
Beverly J. Paigen, Ph.D. bev.paigen@jax.org
Kenneth Paigen, Ph.D. ken.paigen@jax.org
Karolina K. Palucka, Ph.D.* karolina.palucka@jax.org
Luanne L. Peters, Ph.D. luanne.peters@jax.org
Derry C. Roopenian, Ph.D. derry.roopenian@jax.org
Yijun Ruan, Ph.D.* yijun.ruan@jax.org
David V. Serreze, Ph.D.  dave.serreze@jax.org
Leonard D. Shultz, Ph.D. lenny.shultz@jax.org
John P. Sundberg, DVM, Ph.D. john.sundberg@jax.org
Derya Unutmaz, Ph.D.* derya.unutmaz@jax.org
George M. Weinstock, Ph.D.* george.weinstock@jax.org

Back to Top

Associate Professors

Name Email
Elissa J. Chesler, Ph.D. elissa.chesler@jax.org
Jeffrey H. Chuang, Ph.D.* jeffrey.chuang@jax.org
Gregory A. Cox, Ph.D. greg.cox@jax.org
Kenneth R. Johnson Ph.D ken.johnson@jax.org
Kevin D. Mills, Ph.D kevin.mills@jax.org
Martin Ringwald, Ph.D. ringwald@informatics.jax.org
Zhong-wei Zhang, Ph.D. zhongwei.zhang@jax.org

Back to Top

Assistant Professors

Name Email
Ewelina M. Bolcun-Filas, Ph.D. ewelina.bolcun-filas@jax.org
Gregory Carter, Ph.D. greg.carter@jax.org
Chengkai Dai, M.D., Ph.D. chengkai.dai@jax.org
Gareth R. Howell, Ph.D. gareth.howell@jax.org
Ron Korstanje, Ph.D. ron.korstanje@jax.org
Vivek Kumar, Ph.D. vivek.kumar@jax.org
Zhengqing Ouyang, Ph.D.* zhengqing.ouyang@jax.org
Michael L. Stitzel, Ph.D.* michael.stitzel@jax.org
Basile R. Tarchini, Ph.D. basile.tarchini@jax.org
Jennifer J. Trowbridge, Ph.D. jennifer.trowbridge@jax.org
Duygu Ucar, Ph.D.* duygu.ucar@jax.org
Haoyi Wang, Ph.D. haoyi.wang@jax.org
Adam Williams, Ph.D.* adam.williams@jax.org

Back to Top

Adjunct Staff Members

Name Email
Cheryl Ackert-Bicknell, Ph.D. Cheryl_AckertBicknell@URMC.Rochester.edu 
Michael Brehm, Ph.D. michael.brehm@umassmed
Roderick Bronson, DVM rod.bronson@jax.org
David R. Gandara, M.D. david.gandara@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
Dale L. Greiner, Ph.D. dale.greiner@umassmed.edu
Thomas Gridley, Ph.D. gridlt@mmc.org  
Matthew Hibbs, Ph.D. mhibbs@trinity.edu
Harm HogenEsch, Ph.D. hogenesch@purdue.edu
Andre Khalil, Ph.D.  akhalil@jax.org  
Barbara B. Knowles, Ph.D. barbara.knowles@
imb.a-star.edu.sg
Da Ting Lin, Ph.D. da-ting.lin@nih.gov
Samuel E. Lux, MD slux@jax.org
Michael Mason, Ph.D.  mmason@umche.maine.edu
Herbert Morse, MD hm16c@nih.gov 
Allan Pack, Ph.D. pack@mail.med.upenn.edu
Jens Rueter, Ph.D.
John Schimenti, Ph.D. jcs92@cornell.edu
Paul N. Schofield, Ph.D. PS@mole.bio.cam.ac.uk
Kevin Strange, Ph.D.
Jerrold Ward, Ph.D. jerry.ward686@comcast.net
Rong Yuan, MD, Ph.D. ryuan@siumed.edu

Back to Top

Senior Research Scientists

Name Email
Bo Chang, Ph.D. bo.chang@jax.org
Joel H. Graber, Ph.D. joel.graber@jax.org
Mary Ann Handel, Ph.D. maryann.handel@jax.org
James Kadin, Ph.D. jak@informatics.jax.org
Cathleen Lutz, Ph.D. cat.lutz@jax.org
Steve Murray, Ph.D. steve.murray@jax.org
Petko Petkov, Ph.D. petko.petkov@jax.org
Laura Reinholdt, Ph.D. laura.reinholdt@jax.org
Joel Richardson, Ph.D. jer@informatics.jax.org
Erica J. Weinstock. Ph.D.* erica.weinstock@jax.org
Kyuson Yun, Ph.D. kyuson.yun@jax.org
Chengsheng (CZ) Zhang, Ph.D.* chengsheng.zhang@jax.org

Back to Top

Research Scientists

Name Email
David Bergstrom, Ph.D. dave.bergstrom@jax.org
Molly Bogue, Ph.D.  molly.bogue@jax.org
Rebecca Boumil, Ph.D. rebecca.boumil@jax.org
Arthur Chlebowski, Ph.D. arthur.chlebowski@jax.org
Mary Dolan, Ph.D. mary.dolan@jax.org
David Hill, Ph.D. david.hill@jax.org
Hyunsoo Kim, Ph.D.* hyunsoo.kim@jax.org
Verity Letts, Ph.D. verity.letts@jax.org
Guoliang Li, Ph.D.* guoliang.li@jax.org
Michael Sasner, Ph.D.  mike.sasner@jax.org
Kevin Seburn, Ph.D. kevin.seburn@jax.org
Cynthia Smith, Ph.D. cynthia.smith@jax.org
Karen Svenson, Ph.D. karen.svenson@jax.org
Robert Taft, Ph.D. robert.taft@jax.org
Julie Wells, Ph.D. julie.wells@jax.org
Michael Wiles, Ph.D. michael.wiles@jax.org
Yusuke Yamamoto, Ph.D. yusuke.yamamoto@jax.org

Back to Top

Associate Research Scientists

Name Email
Christopher Baker, Ph.D. christopher.baker@jax.org
Laurent Bogdanik, Ph.D. laurent.bogdanik@jax.org
Jason Bubier, Ph.D. jason.bubier@jax.org
Mimi de Vries, Ph.D. mimi.devries@jax.org
Kevin Flurkey, Ph.D. kevin.flurkey@jax.org
Krzysztof Grzeda, Ph.D.* krzysztof.grzeda@jax.org
Muneer Hasham, Ph.D. muneer.hasham@jax.org
Vishnu Hosur, Ph.D. vishnu.hosur@jax.org
Imogen Hurley, Ph.D. imogen.hurley@jax.org
Krish Kizhatil, Ph.D. Krish.kizhatil@jax.org
Lina Kozhaya, Ph.D.* lina.kozhaya@jax.org
Dayana Krawchuk, Ph.D. dayana.krawchuk@jax.org
Mark Krebs, Ph.D. mark.krebs@jax.org
Shana Leopold, Ph.D.* shana.leopold@jax.org
Radu Marches, Ph.D.* radu.marches@jax.org
Eladio Marquez, Ph.D.* eladio.marquez@jax.org
Francesca Menghi, Ph.D.* francesca.menghi@jax.org
Hoan Nguyen, Ph.D.* hoan.nguyen@jax.org
Gang Ning, Ph.D.* gang.ning@jax.org
Emil Parvanov, Ph.D. emil.parvanov@jax.org
Kevin Peterson, Ph.D. kevin.peterson@jax.org
Raymond Robledo, Ph.D.  ray.robledo@jax.org
Ruth L. Saxl, Ph.D. ruth.saxl@jax.org
Manju Sharma, Ph.D. manju.sharma@jax.org
Ileana Soto Reyes, Ph.D. ileana.sotoreyes@jax.org
Fengyun Sun, Ph.D. fengyun.sun@jax.org
Sivakamasumdari V, Ph.D.* siva.v@jax.org
Purva Vats, Ph.D.* purva.vats@jax.org
Xia Wang, Ph.D.* xia.wang@jax.org
Chun Yu, Ph.D. chun.yu@jax.org
Yingfan Zhang, Ph.D. yingfan.zhang@jax.org
Yuping Zhang, Ph.D.* yuping.zhang@jax.org
Lihong Zhao, Ph.D. lihong.zhao@jax.org
Qihui Zhu, Ph.D.* qihui.zhu@jax.org

Back to Top

Affiliated Scientists

Name Email
Linda Waterman, DVM linda.waterman@jax.org
James Fahey, DVM jim.fahey@jax.org
Barbara Tennent, Ph.D. barbara.tennent@jax.org
Ray Vonder Haar, Ph.D. ray.vonderhaar@jax.org

Back to Top

Predoctoral Staff

Name Email
Kyle Beauchemin kyle.beauchemin@jax.org
Seungbum Choi seungbum.choi@jax.org
Yang Kong yang.kong@jax.org
Erik McCarthy erik.mccarthy@jax.org
Cong Tian cong.tian@jaxorg

Back to Top

Postdoctoral Staff
 

Name Email
Candice Baker, Ph.D. candice.baker@jax.org
Bautista Bautista, Eddy* eddy.bautista@jax.org
Yanfei Chen. Ph.D.* yanfei.chen@jax.org
Albert Cheng, Ph.D. albert.cheng@jax.org
Benoit Chevalier, Ph.D.* benoit.chevalier@jax.org
Kwangbom Choi, Ph.D. kwangbom.choi@jax.org
Kin-Hoe Chow, Ph.D. kin-hoe.chow@jax.org
William Corwin, Ph.D.* william.corwin@jax.org
Theun de Groot, Ph.D. theun.degroot@jax.org
Price Dickson, Ph.D. price.dickson@jax.org
Marcin Duleba, Ph.D.* marcin.duleba@jax.org
Sarah Edie, Ph.D. sarah.edie@jax.org
Hongjun Fu, Ph.D. hongjun.fu@jax.org
Chizuru Sogawa Fujiwara, Ph.D. chizuru.sogawa@jax.org
Yasuhiro, Fujiwara, Ph.D. yasuhiro.fujiwara@jax.org
Andrew Garrett, Ph.D. andrew.garrett@jax.org
Archana Gopalan, Ph.D. archana.gopalan@jax.org
John Graham, Ph.D. john.graham@jax.org
Blake Hanson, Ph.D.* blake.hanson@jax.org
Jeffrey Harder, Ph.D. jeffrey.harder@jax.org
Amy Hicks, Ph.D. amy.hicks@jax.org
Yue Hong, Ph.D.* yue.hong@jax.org
Vishnu Hosur, Ph.D. vishnu.hosur@jax.org
Bo Ji, Ph.D. bo.ji@jax.org
Mridu Kapur, Ph.D. mridu.kapur@jax.org
Ji Hun Kim, Ph.D.* jihun.kim@jax.org
Pooja Kumar, Ph.D.* pooja.kumar@jax.org
Ina Kycia, Ph.D.* ina.kycia@jax.org
Kristin Lamont, Ph.D. kristin.lamont@jax.org
Xingwang Li, Ph.D.* xingwang.li@jax.org
Oscar Luo, Ph.D.* oscar.luo@jax.org
Steven Munger, Ph.D. steven.munger@jax.org
Sivaraman Natarajan, Ph.D. sivaraman.natarajan@jax.org
Danitza Nebor, Ph.D. danitza.nebor@jax.org
Javad Noorbakhsh, Ph.D.* javad.noorbakhsh@jax.org
Kristen Onos, Ph.D. kristen.onos@jax.org
Lauren Petersen, Ph.D.* lauren.petersen@jax.org
Pavlina Petkova, Ph.D. pavlina.petkova@jax.org
Natalie Powers, Ph.D. natalie.powers@jax.org
Maximiliano Presa, Ph.D. maximiliano.presa@jax.org
Jeremy Racine, Ph.D. jeremy.racine@jax.org
Narayanan Raghupathy, Ph.D. narayanan.raghupathy@jax.org
Prashant Singh, Ph.D.* prashant.singh@jax.org
Elizabeth Snyder, Ph.D. elizabeth.snyder@jax.org
Daniel Spakowicz, Ph.D.* daniel.spakowicz@jax.org
Kuo-Hui Su, Ph.D. kuo-hui.su@jax.org
Narayan Subramanian, Ph.D. narayan.subramanian@jax.org
George Sutphin, Ph.D. george.sutphin@jax.org
Abby Tadenev, Ph.D. abby.tadenev@jax.org
Zhonghui Tang, Ph.D.* zhonghui.tang@jax.org
Hui Tian, Ph.D. hui.tian@jax.org
Simon Tian, Ph.D. simon.tian@jax.org
Anna L. Tyler, Ph.D. anna.tyler@jax.org
Mohit Verma, Ph.D. mohit.verma@jax.org
Joel Wagner, Ph.D.* joel.wagner@jax.org
Yubing Wan, Ph.D.* yubing.wan@jax.org
Ping Wang, Ph.D.* ping.wang@jax.org
Xulong Wang, Ph.D. xulong.wang@jax.org
Pete. Williams, Ph.D. pete.williams@jax.org
Te-Chia (Tina) Wu, Ph.D.* te-chia.wu@jax.org
Zhihong Yang, Ph.D. zhihong.yang@jax.org
Kira Young, Ph.D. kira.young@jax.org
Meizhen Zheng, Ph.D.* meizhen.zheng@jax.org
Chenchen Zou, Ph.D.* chenchen.zou@jax.org

Back to Top

Emeritus Staff
 

Name Email
Jane E. Barker, Ph.D.  jane.barker@jax.org 
Wesley G. Beamer, Ph.D. wesley.beamer@jax.org
Seldon E. Bernstein, Ph.D. seldonb@jax.org
Robert L. Collins, Ph.D. rlc@jax.org
Muriel Davisson, Ph.D. muriel.davisson@jax.org
Igor K. Egorov, Ph.D., DSc ike@jax.org
Eva M. Eicher, Ph.D. eva.eicher@jax.org
John J. Eppig, Ph.D. john.eppig@jax.org
Robert Evans, Ph.D., DSc revans@jax.org
Richard R. Fox, Ph.D. dfox@jax.org
Barbara H. Hugus, Ph.D. barbarahugus@hotmail.com
Andrew A. Kandutsch, Ph.D. nakand@localnet.com
Larry E. Mobraaten, Ph.D.  larry.mobraaten@jax.org 
David D. Myers, DVM, Ph.D. dave.myers@jax.org
Leroy C. Stevens, Ph.D.  
Benjamin A. Taylor, Ph.D. bat@jax.org

Back to Top

Latest Update on May 22, 2015

Content Maintained by: Laura McLaughlin Weik